Introduction

The Republican Liberty Caucus of Tampa Bay is an all-volunteer, membership-based political action organization dedicated to promoting the ideals of sensible limited government, free markets and individual Liberty in the Tampa Bay area.

In a follow-up to our wildly successful Congressional candidate questionnaire from the CD-13 Special Election, we put together a questionnaire for all candidates running for Florida House or Florida Senate in the Tampa Bay area. The development of the questionnaire was a collaborative effort that included a public call for questions, resulting in several of the questions included here.

All candidates, from unopposed incumbents to write-ins, were contacted by phone and/or email several times over the last 3+ weeks to solicit a response. We would like to thank those candidates that took the time to respond to our questions.

The candidates’ responses have not been altered in any way. If you would like to hear from someone that has not responded, please do contact them.

Finally, if you appreciate the work done to get these responses to you, please consider a donation to our group. We are all unpaid volunteers doing this in our spare time because we care about the direction of our community, state, and nation.

Voter Information

The candidates facing an intra-party challenge will appear on your August 26th ballot, if you are a member of that party (Florida is a closed-primary state). The rest will appear on your November 4th ballot, unless they are unopposed.

Check with your County Supervisor of Elections to ensure you are properly registered to vote:

http://VotePinellas.com | http://VoteHillsborough.org | http://PascoVotes.com | http://HernandoVotes.com | http://VoteManatee.com | http://SarasotaVotes.com

Legislative Candidate Questionnaire Responses

To see a map of the Florida House districts, click here. To see a map of the Florida Senate districts, click here. Emails and phone numbers are pulled from the candidates’ public election filings.

Races where candidates responded are linked below.

House District 65 (North Pinellas)
House District 66 (West-Central Pinellas)
House District 67 (North Pinellas)
House District 68 (Southeast Pinellas)
House District 70 (South Pinellas, Southeast Hillsborough, parts of Manatee, Sarasota)
House District 34 (Northwest Hernando, Citrus)
House District 35 (Hernando)
House District 36 (West Pasco)
House District 72 (Northwest Sarasota)

Senate District 20 (North Pinellas)
Senate District 22 (South Pinellas, South Tampa)
Senate District 24 (East Hillsborough)

None of the candidates from the following races have responded to our questionnaire. Candidate contact information for all of the races are below.

House District 69 (South Pinellas)
House District 37 (Central Pasco)

House District 38 (East Pasco)
House District 57 (Southeast Hillsborough)
House District 58 (Northeast Hillsborough)
House District 59 (Central-Eastern Hillsborough)
House District 60 (Eastern/Bayfront Hillsborough)
House District 61 (North-Central Hillsborough)
House District 62 (East Hillsborough)
House District 63 (North Hillsborough)
House District 64 (Northwest Hillsborough, North Pinellas)
House District 71 (Western Manatee, Northwest Sarasota)
House District 73 (Manatee, North Sarasota)
House District 74 (Sarasota)
Senate District 26 (South Hillsborough, Manatee, Hardee, DeSoto, South Highlands, Glades)
Senate District 28 (Sarasota, Western Charlotte) 

Candidate Contact Information

House District 65 (North Pinellas)

Debbie Faulkner (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
Debbie@thefaulknerfirm.com | 727-333-5259

Carl “Z” Zimmermann (Democrat) – Responded, Thank you!
carlzimmermann@yahoo.com | 727-786-4654

Chris Sprowls (Republican) – Did not respond.
Chris@ChrisSprowls.Com | 727-279-5997

House District 66 (West-Central Pinellas)

Lorena Grizzle (Democrat) – Responded, Thank you!
grizzleforpinellas@gmail.com

Larry Ahern (Republican) – Did not respond.
larry@larryahern.com | 727-804-5573

House District 67 (North Pinellas)

Chris Latvala (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
chrislatvala@hotmail.com | 727-514-3741

Steve Sarnoff (Democrat) – Responded, Thank you!
steve@votesarnoff.com | 727-871-1011

Christopher Shepard (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
shepard.district67@gmail.com | 727-259-4405

Thomas D. Ryan (Democrat) – Did not respond.
TDRyan55@yahoo.com | 727-420-4479

Shawna Vercher (Democrat) – Did not respond.
svercher@gmail.com | 727-271-2911

House District 68 (Pinellas)

Joshua Black (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
joshuablack2014@gmail.com | 727-270-8955

Dwight Dudley (Democrat) – Did not respond.
electdwightdudley@gmail.com | 727-580-0111

Bill Young (Republican) – Did not respond.
cwbill2@gmail.com | 727-433-3054

House District 69 (South Pinellas)

Scott T. Orsini (Democrat) – Did not respond.
sorsini@attorneyusa.com | 727-365-9393

Kathleen Peters (Republican) – Did not respond.
Kathleen@KathleenPeters.com | 727-656-3821

House District 70 (South Pinellas, Southeast Hillsborough, parts of Manatee, Sarasota)

Philip Garrett (No Party Affiliation) – Responded, Thank you!
votegarrett@netzero.net | 813-331-9777

Justin M. Bauford (Write-in) – Did not respond.
jmbauford@gmail.com | 727-641-1668

Darryl E. Rouson (Democrat) – Did not respond.
voterouson@gmail.com | 727-224-4557

House District 34 (Northwest Hernando, Citrus)

Jimmie T. Smith (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
jimmietsmith@gmail.com | 352-464-5556

House District 35 (Hernando)

Hamilton R. Hanson (No Party Affiliation) – Responded with a statement.
hamiltonhernando@hotmail.com | 727-522-0189

Blaise Ingoglia (Republican) – Did not respond.
blaise.ingoglia.fl@gmail.com | 352-585-9802

Rose Rocco (Democrat) – Did not respond.
mbsinc1979@aol.com | 352-686-5183

James Scavetta (No Party Affiliation) – Did not respond.
shadowhawk.inc@gmail.com | 352-684-5076

House District 36 (West Pasco)

Chris Gregg (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
chrisjgregg@hotmail.com | 813-326-7977

James Mathieu (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
jmathi222@aol.com | 727-844-5000

Amanda Murphy (Democrat) – Responded, Thank you!
amanda.onthego@gmail.com | 727-359-2007

House District 37 (Central Pasco)

Richard Corcoran (Republican) – Did not respond.
richard@richardcorcoran.com | 727-247-3320

House District 38 (East Pasco)

Danny Burgess (Republican) – Did not respond.
danny@votedannyburgess.com | 813-602-8184

Beverly Ledbetter (Democrat) – Did not respond.
ledbetterhouse38@hotmail.com | 813-294-9863

House District 57 (Southeast Hillsborough)

Jake Raburn (Republican) – Did not respond.
jake@jakeraburn.com | 813-763-2968

House District 58 (Northeast Hillsborough)

Jose N. Vazquez (Write-in) – Did not respond.
vazquezd58@yahoo.com | 813-526-9920

Daniel D. Raulerson (Republican) – Did not respond.
dan@rccpas.biz | 813-754-3295

House District 59 (Central-Eastern Hillsborough)

Donna Lee Fore (Democrat) – Did not respond.
foreforstatehouse@gmail.com | 813-528-0902

Ross Spano (Republican) – Did not respond.
rspano@csolaw.com | 813-677-1112

 House District 60 (Eastern/Bayfront Hillsborough)

Dana Young (Republican) – Did not respond.
dana@votedanayoung.com | 813-760-3262

House District 61 (North-Central Hillsborough)

Sharon Carter  (Democrat) – Did not respond.
votesharoncarter2014@gmail.com | 813-300-0961

Tatiana M. Denson (Democrat) – Did not respond.
votedenson@gmail.com | 813-644-9159

Edwin “Ed” Narain (Democrat) – Did not respond.
enarain@hotmail.com | 813-468-0676

Nicole  Santiago (Write-in) – Did not respond.
heyxxromantica@gmail.com | 813-743-4089

Sean Shaw (Democrat) – Did not respond.
sean@shawforflorida.com | 813-221-6860

House District 62 (East Hillsborough)

Janet Cruz (Democrat) – Did not respond.
janrifkin@gmail.com | 813-758-4545

House District 63 (North Hillsborough)

Mark Danish (Democrat) – Did not respond.
markdanishfor63@gmail.com | 813-732-4230

Shawn Harrison (Republican) – Did not respond.
shawn@shawnharrison.com | 813-337-6683

House District 64 (Northwest Hillsborough, North Pinellas)

James Grant (Republican) – Did not respond.
james@jamesgrantfl.com | 813-434-0763

Miriam Steinberg (Republican) – Did not respond.
mirams22@aol.com | 813-264-6916

Daniel John Matthews (Write-in) – Did not respond.
matthewsdaniel89@gmail.com | 813-340-7369

House District 71 (Western Manatee, Northwest Sarasota)

Jim Boyd (Republican) – Did not respond.
jim@jimboyd4house.com | 941-782-6280

House District 72 (Northwest Sarasota)

Greg Para (Democrat) – Responded, Thank you!
gregpara62@gmail.com | 941-962-2176

Ray Pilon (Republican) – Did not respond.
rpilon13@verizon.net | 941-926-8160

House District 73 (Manatee, North Sarasota)

Greg Steube (Republican) – Did not respond.
greg@electgregsteube.com | 941-366-8826

House District 74 (Sarasota)

Richard DeNapoli (Republican) – Did not respond.
richard@richardforflorida.com | 941-228-3738

Julio Gonzalez (Republican) – Did not respond.
juliogonzalezcampaign@gmail.com | 941-408-3024

Robert Samuel Kaplan (Write-in) – Did not respond.
Rbkaplan11@comcast.net | 941-600-8473

Senate District 20 (North Pinellas)

Tony Caso (Libertarian) – Responded, Thank you!
tony@votetonycaso.com | 727-786-7868

Zahid Roy (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
roy.zahid@outlook.com | 727-953-5451

Jack Latvala (Republican) – Did not respond.
jacklatvala@aol.com | 727-545-9566

Senate District 22 (South Pinellas, South Tampa)

Jeff Brandes (Republican) – Responded, Thank you!
jeff@electjeffbrandes.com | 727-537-0683

Judithanne McLauchlan (Democrat) – Did not respond.
info@votejudithanne.com | 727-744-8266

Senate District 24 (East Hillsborough)

Brandon R. Thebeau (Write-in) – Responded, Thank you!
thebeau@mail.usf.edu | 727-678-6235

Tom Lee (Republican) – Did not respond.
tom@votetomlee.com | 813-689-2548

Steven P. Warren (Write-in) – Did not respond.
swarren1020@gmail.com | 813-470-0500

Senate District 26 (South Hillsborough, Manatee, Hardee, DeSoto, South Highlands, Glades)

Bill Galvano (Republican) – Did not respond.
bill@billgalvano.com | 941-795-5948

Senate District 28 (Sarasota, Western Charlotte)

Nancy C. Detert (Republican) – Did not respond.
ndetert@gmail.com | 941-493-1987


If you found this questionnaire useful, please consider offering a small contribution, so that we may continue our work and reach new people with the message of sensible limited government, free markets, and individual Liberty. #RLC

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
0