Voter Guide: Pinellas County November 2018 General Election

 In Ballot Initiatives, Pinellas County, Voter Guide

Pinellas County voters: there is an election on November 6th. Mail-in ballots have already been sent. You can check your voter registration at

In every race, we try to select the candidate or position most likely to represent the conservative, Constitutionalist, limited-government grassroots. Our voting recommendations are below:

United States Senator

  • Rick Scott over Bill Nelson

Representative In Congress, District 12

  • Gus Michael Bilirakis over Chris Hunter and Angelika Purkis

Representative In Congress, District 13

  • George Buck over Charlie Crist

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

  • Ron DeSantis over Andrew Gillum

Attorney General

  • Ashley Moody over Sean Shaw and Jeffrey Marc Siskind

Chief Financial Officer

  • No Recommendation (Jimmy Patronis, Jeremy Ring)

Commissioner of Agriculture

  • Matt Caldwell over Nicole “Nikki” Fried

State Senator District 16

  • Ed Hooper over Amanda Murphy

State Senator District 24

  • Jeff Brandes over Lindsay Cross

State Representative, District 64

  • James Grant over Jessica Harrington, Andy Warrener

State Representative, District 65

  • Chris Sprowls over Sally A. Laufer

State Representative, District 66

  • Nick DiCeglie over Alex Heeren

State Representative, District 67

  • Chris Latvala over Dawn C. Douglas

State Representative, District 69

  • Ray Blacklidge over Jennifer Webb

Board of County Commissioners, District 6 – Single Member

  • Kathleen Peters over Amy Kedron

Justice of the Supreme Court – Justice Alan Lawson

  • Yes on retention (Info: Alan Lawson was appointed by Rick Scott in 2016)

District Court of Appeal – Judge Anthony K. Black

  • No recommendation (Info: Anthony K. Black was appointed by Charlie Crist in 2010)

District Court of Appeal – Judge Darryl C. Casanueva

  • No on retention (Info: Darryl C. Casanueva was appointed by Lawton Chiles in 1998)

District Court of Appeal – Judge Edward C. LaRose

  • No recommendation (Info: Edward C. LaRose was appointed by Jeb Bush in 2005)

District Court of Appeal – Judge Susan H. Rothstein-Youakim

  • Yes on retention (Info: Susan H. Rothstein-Youakim was appointed by Rick Scott in 2016)

Circuit Judge, 6th Circuit, Group 4

  • Dave Ellis over Roxanne Fixsen

School Board Member, District 2 – At Large

  • Lisa N. Cane over Jeff Larsen

School Board Member, District 3 – At Large

  • Peggy O’Shea over Nicole Carr

School Board Member, District 6 – Single Member

  • Bill Dudley over Matt Stewart

Constitutional Amendments

For more information on the Amendments, check out Liberty First Network’s detailed explanation of each.

Amendment 1, Increased Homestead Property Tax Exemption

  • Yes

Amendment 2, Limitations on Property Tax Assessments

  • Yes

Amendment 3, Voter Control of Gambling in Florida

  • No

Amendment 4, Voting Restoration Amendment

  • No recommendation

Amendment 5, Supermajority Vote Required to Impose, Authorize, or Raise State Taxes or Fees

  • Yes

Amendment 6, Rights of Crime Victims; Judges

  • No

Amendment 7, First Responder and Military Member Survivor Benefits; Public Colleges and Universities

  • No

Amendment 9, Prohibits Offshore Oil and Gas Drilling; Prohibits Vaping in Enclosed Indoor Workplaces

  • No

Amendment 10, State and Local Government Structure and Operation

  • No

Amendment 11, Property Rights; Removal of Obsolete Provision; Criminal Statutes

  • Yes

Amendment 12, Lobbying and Abuse of Office by Public Officers

  • No recommendation

Amendment 13, Ends Dog Racing

  • No

Local Races

Palm Harbor Special Fire Control and Rescue District – Seat 2

  • Julie Peluso over Patrick Bengston

Hillsborough County Ballot

No. 2 Hillsborough County Referendum: Funding for Countywide Transportation and Road Improvements by County

  • No

Please donate so that we can pay our server bills and bring you future voter guides.

In Liberty,

Your local Republican Liberty Caucus Chapter


Recent Posts

Leave a Comment